It's been a while since my last post but lately things have been very hectic. Last week mom and I drove down to MCC to register me for my GED test. I was so stressed out driving there and I wasn't even taking the test that day! I get pretty severe anxiety before things are going to happen but I told myself, "This is something you HAVE to do and you're going to do it no matter what happens." I knew I couldn't get out of this one just like I couldn't get out of getting my license. It's one of those things you just have to do in life. So while registering I started to relax and try to feel used to the atmosphere a little. "I can do this." We split the test up so I would do reading and history on Monday, writing and essay on Thursday, then the remaining science and math the following week. Sunday I studied for history since it's not my best subject and the next day I was off to MCC again.
Now this was real I thought but I knew I could handle it. My main concern was if I could get the test done in time. There was only five people including me in the room because a lot of kids cancelled. I had requested the chair furthest in the back to be away from anyone that might be sick and to help with the anxiety. It definitely helped, it was nice not to be right on top of someone. We had 15 minutes before it started so I looked around. You had the older guy who felt out of place, the quiet kid in the front, the jock kid, the art freak (me) and of course...the trouble maker (currently scratching the desk with ink). I felt like I was in a Breakfast Club remake. We were quite the group. Finally it was time to get the test over with. We started with reading and it was going ok. I told myself not to look around at everyone else because if I saw someone way ahead of me I might panic. "Just look at the paper." Well, of course something caught my eye and it was none other than the trouble maker. He was...sleeping, and every once in a while he'd jot down a few answers and doze off again. He was also the first person to finish early. This was the type of kid who could fall asleep in class, not even try, and still get an A+. The secret genius who gets into trouble. After it was over he was on the phone talking about how stupid and easy and test was. I wanted to throw my pen at his face because I thought the test was hard. I just had to laugh though and not care at this point, my score was the only one that mattered.
When we got home we were sent my score via email pretty fast. I was nervous because I thought for sure I'd have to retake history since I hadn't a clue about most of the questions.
Reading: Passed
History:...PASSED! just 3 more to go.
I could breathe for 2 days before I had to take the next test and get a good sleep.
Over the weekend I'll write about what has happened since then since I'm out of room. Things got pretty...difficult and I now have a new challenge to face. But, I am thinking positive!
This is a real-life cliff hanger!!! You have such a wonderful attitude. I am wishing you much success, whatever that may mean.
ReplyDeleteLove,
Auntie Lynda
www.jumpup2chapterbooks.blogspot.com