Suddenly, about a week before my next doctors appointment, our treadmill stopped working. Panic hit my face as "Error 1" kept popping up on the screen. Mom and I just looked at each other before she ran and grabbed the manual. She read, "E 1 means the belt needs to be re-lubed." Seems like an easy fix right? Wrong.It had to have a special lube that could only be ordered. This meant no tread for a while. I immediately tried thinking of other ways to work my lungs until the lube came. Mom suggested I get a 3 day pass to her gym until it arrives. I'd had a bad history with gyms before though so I was nervous about the idea. Gyms are full of germs and people breathing hard around you. This was risky for me. She assured me that we could go during times nobody was there so I had to give it a shot.
it was 9:30pm at the gym when we got there. Even with hardly any people and them 2-3 machines down from me I'd felt myself constantly eying them. "Please don't sneeze" "Please don't cough" "Am I far enough away?" "This machine must be filthy"
I was tense and it was hard to focus on just my workout even though I'd pushed myself extra hard on the machine. I knew I'd have to let it all go in order to get through the next 2 days. I just wanted our tread fixed...
I did my last days of the gym and still the lube for ours hadn't come. It had cooled off quite a bit so mom and I were able to walk our neighborhood. My doctors appointment was just days away now. I had to hope my hard work was going to pay off...